Fire Zones

Can I have a fire?


Southern Rural Fire want to make fire available to people to use as a land management tool. 

Below is a list of different burning activities and the burning conditions you can burn in during different fire seasons.

If you are unable to meet the specific burning conditions listed you can ring Southern Rural Fire for advice.

Zone A

Zone B

Zone C

Urban Areas

Standard Burning Conditions For All Fires


How do I know which zone I'm in?

Check out the link below and zoom into your property, or you can ring us on 0800 77 33 63 or email us at

Map of Fire Zones 


Why do we have Zone A, B and C?

Southern Rural Fire has divided the Fire District into different zones based on the level of wildfire risk.

The use of fire varies across the Fire District and therefore the risks associated with fires vary too.  The three zones in the Fire District have been developed to manage fire use relevant to the level of risk in your area.

We understand fire is a valuable land management tool and we want to provide opportunity for people to use fire wisely while also fulfilling our role in managing fire for all our communities.


Zones can be characterised

Zone A

Zone B

Areas of highly developed pasture land where fire is unlikely to spread through continuous vegetation.

Areas surrounded by high value, either commercial such as forestry or environmental such as native reserves. 

 These areas have greater levels of risk if a fire was to occur near or in them.

 Zone C

Currently there is only one Zone C area.  This area extends from Tiwai in the west along to Fortrose in the east and as far north as the Catlins Highway (SH 92).This zone is characterised by large expanses of vegetation and difficult terrain.